26th Annual JYBDSA Ceremony

This year’s 26th Annual Julian Y. Bernstein Distinguished Service Awards Ceremony took place virtually on March 16, 2021.  You can view the event here in its entirety –  DSA 2021 Video.

Program ads have closed but if you wish to make a donation visit https://www.wjcouncil.org/donate-now/.

To view the journal from this program, please click https://youtu.be/dwgu2TWoA-0.

Every spring, the Westchester Jewish Council honors deserving member organizations and their leaders with the Julian Y. Bernstein Distinguished Service Award (DSA). Julian Y. Bernstein was a former Westchester Jewish Council board member, who was a visionary communal leader. Julian believed that doing tzedakah was just as important as giving tzedakah. In tribute to his passion and devotion to the Jewish community, we honor those who follow in his footsteps. Member organizations are invited to nominate an honoree from within their organization whose dedication and leadership has enriched our Westchester community.

2021 Honorees List:

AJC Westchester/Fairfield Richard W. Cohen
Bet Torah Dr. Jill Ratner
Beth El Synagogue Center Brian P. Bosworth
Community Synagogue of Rye Dr. Bruce Reidenberg
Congregation Emanu-El of Westchester Hedy Cardozo
Congregation Kol Ami Elizabeth Ilberg
Dorot Monica Aboodi
Greenburgh Hebrew Center Andrew Michael Goldstein
Hadar David J. Gilberg
Hebrew Free Burial Wendy Linderman
Hebrew Home of Riverdale Isaac Ohrenstein
Hebrew Institute of White Plains Rena Fredman
JCCA Wendy Kleinman
The Jewish Education Project Karen Everett
Larchmont Temple Michele Metsch
The Leffell School Jerry Goldman
Mount Kisco Hebrew Congregation Robin Tanzman
Rosh Pinah Chavurah of the Rivertowns Rabbi Halina Rubinstein
Shaarei Tikvah Judith L. Spanier
StandWithUs Paula Blumenfeld
Temple Beth Shalom – Mahopac Andy Milkis
Temple Israel Center of White Plains Judah Aber
UJA Federation of NY/Westchester Lily Deitelzweig
Westchester Jewish Center Cindy Heller
Westchester Jewish Council Irwin S. Davison
Young Israel of New Rochelle Tamar Weinberg